- Uncategorized

Trabzonspor win Turkish Cup

Anthony Nwakaeme’s Trabzonspor claimed the 2020 Ziraat Turkish Cup after defeating Aytemiz Alanyaspor 2-0 on Wednesday night at Istanbul’s Atatürk Olympic Stadium.

The Nigerian international was an unused sub during the encounter as Trabzonspor took the lead in the 25th minute through Turkish midfielder Abdulkadir Omur.

Norwegian forward Alexander Sorloth crossed the ball into the vital area and bdülkadir Ömür flicked it into Alanyaspor’s net for the opener.

In the added time of the second half, Alanyaspor forward Papiss Cisse’s equalized with a header , but the goal was disallowed due to an offside call.

Moments to the end of the match, Sorloth added an insurance goal through a counterattack to double Trabzonspor lead.

Meanwhile, Trabzonspor left back Filip Novak suffered a serious head injury and was taken to hospital.

At the end of the contest, Ömür was named the man of the match while Trabzonspor’s Turkish goalkeeper Uğurcan Çakır and Argentine midfielder Jose Sosa lifted the trophy during the cup ceremony.

Trabzonspor have now won the Turkish Cup nine times as the Black Sea club previously claimed it in 1977, 1978, 1984, 1992, 1995, 2003, 2004 and 2010.

It was Alanyaspor’s first final, returning home with a silver medal.

Galatasaray have the most trophies in Turkish Cup history with 18.

Click To Claim Your Point

25 thoughts on “Trabzonspor win Turkish Cup

Comments are closed.